making fudgy coconut brownies

If you like chewy and gooey in a sweet treat then these fudgy coconut brownies are the ones for you!  I certainly do so a great success for first time brownie baking 😮
The inclusion of dessiccated coconut is what weakened my resolve when this oh-so-simple recipe popped up in my blog reader.  The coconut taste is very subtle so don’t be put off if you’re not a fan like me.  It’s the effect it has on on the texture that’s most striking and I suspect they’d be less chewy without the coconut.  These fudgy brownies are really delicious and since all I did was follow a recipe I can say that without a scrap of boastfulness at my brownie baking ability.  Be sure to share them with friends if you’re fond of your teeth as they’re super sweet.  At least that way they can declare ‘they’re the best brownies I ever eaten’ for you (thanks Jen and Fran)

what you need to make fudgy coconut brownies
100g cocoa
250g butter
500g golden caster sugar
4 eggs , beaten
100g self-raising flour
100g desiccated coconut
icing sugar , to dust (optional)
Cuts into 16 squares 

  • Heat the oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4 and line the base of a 21cm square tin with baking parchment.
  • Put the cocoa, butter and sugar in your largest saucepan and gently melt, stirring so the mixture doesn’t catch.
  • When the cocoa mixture is melted and combined, cool slightly, then stir in the eggs, little by little, followed by the flour and coconut.
  • Tip into the tin and bake for 45 mins on a middle shelf – check after 30 mins and cover with another piece of baking parchment if the crust is browning too much. Cool in the tin, then carefully lift out and cut into squares.

PER SERVING
358 kcalories, protein 3g, carbohydrate 43g, fat 21 g, saturated fat 13g, fibre 2g, sugar 35g, salt 0.39 g
– recipe from the BBC Good Food website

note to self for next time: normal granulated sugar instead of caster was fine. Experiment using less sugar though for a more tooth-kind, waist-friendly version! With such little flour easy to make a gluten-free alternative too.

9 comments

  1. I have a weakness for chocolate and coconut – one of my favorite childhood memories of food! so these sound excellent to me – actually I was making fudge tonight and hummed and hawed about putting in coconut and now you make me wish I did!

  2. Johanna – sounds like a good reason for fudge round 2 tomorrow {wink}. Happy fudge making and chomping 😮

    Tom – I only had to catch a glimpse of them to be doing the same! And drooling always leads to nibbling and then scoffing …

    Nina – would be great with one of your lovely steaming cuppas

    Dad – they’ve all gone! They were just too moorish and it wasn’t safe for me to be left alone with them in the house. I gave them to G to take into work yesterday, sorry. I will make them again though and you’ll have first refusal on a biggest square (which you won’t refuse of course :o)

    • you mean he’s got through 16 brownies already, blimey {joking of course ;o} Glad yours turned out well too, although I can’t imagine how this recipe could go wrong really!
      Thanks for coming over to say hello – I really enjoyed checking out your blog and your lovely crocheted goodies. Oh how I’d love to …. sigh x

  3. I can vouch for these being good – some of the better ones I’ve made. For a gluten free brownie, try using ground almonds instead of flour – more expensive of course, but even yummier!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.