growing old

I’m going to live to 100.  What age would you like to live to?’ George asked me not long after we’d started dating.  ‘I’ve never thought about it‘ I lied (most people had that playground conversation that began ‘How old do you want to be when you die?‘ didn’t they?).  Not as delicately worded by children but the same philisophical question.  Had my beloved asked me before informing me of his intention I might have said ”oh, about 85 would be a good running‘ as I didn’t know anyone much older than that 15 years ago.  As it was I said something like ‘it would be mean to leave you on your own so I guess I’ll just have to hang in there with you’. It marked the start of a life together where we lovingly challenge each others assumptions and don’t take our health for granted.

Today is the start of my 35th year and I predict it will be my best year yet.  Birthdays are a low key affair in our house and we don’t really do parties.  I think I could make an exception for my 100th though!  I wonder who’ll be there? 

I don’t know if my red watering can was a 2nd birthday gift but my love of gardening obviously started at a young age.  You’ll be pleased to hear I manage to get most of the water on the plants these days!

© ‘getting old‘ card produced by M.I.L.K

19 comments

  1. 😀 What a cute post ! I’m still giggling at your last pic. 😀

    HAPPY 35th, dear Nicola ! Have an awesome day !
    And may you and your luvvy both live to be 100 ! 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday Nic. Such a pretty little thing you were/are/will be.
    Have a good day, and I’ll keep a note of your 100th birthday party to be there!

  3. Miss M – glad to share the birthday cheer. At least G and I are the same age so there’s every possibility we’ll manage it together :o)

    Cheryl – let’s hope 2010 is the year that rocks for all of us!

    Pat – you’re on, may even manage it in the month of my birth now it’s getting milder. I need to get to the plot to cut back my autumn raspberries anyway

    Rufus – you’re biased! I’ve got your party on my calendar – I head it can take quite a while to plan a centenary celebration so you best start thinking about it now. Or is 34 years a bit too much time :o)

  4. Happy birthday Nic,hope you had a good day, it was the birthday of two of my good friends in Brunei yesterday too, bit of a party last night, and we got a new kitten as a friend for Molly.

  5. happy birthday – I love your reply to george – so sweet! I don’t usually do parties but there is always cake – hop you had cake – and that photo of you as a kiddie is really cute

  6. Happy Birthday! I’ve found life gets better as you get older, I expect to live to 75 so I’d better hurry up and use all my stash up.

  7. I know how tricky it can be to answer questions like that without lying but without telling the truth either. Much as I would love to tell my children I will live forever….

    Happy Birthday
    x

  8. Oh POOEY – I didn’t know it was your birthday and however low-key you may like it, I wish I had known. Usual chaos at Bag End (Himself on vacation this week) so your belated card will have to wait but this Is A Good Thing {smile} because it makes your birthday last longer.

    Impressed with red watering can – you were obviously destined for great horticultural things at an early age.

    Have voted for you at Dorset Cereals – you were well in the lead last time I looked!

  9. Moy – beautifully put x

    Bilbo – don’t worry lovely. It didn’t turn out at all as we planned so we’re celebrating next month instead!
    Very excited about cereal winning potential – thanks for voting x

  10. I hope you had a great birthday, age is a number how important it is ,is entirely up to you.I know people who are old at 50 and also a few youngsters of 80!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.