bunches of cheeryuppyness

April 25, 2010 at 2:20 pm 10 comments

A cat-like approach to life, snoozing in sun spots and calling out to George when I need feeding, has made the last two weeks more bearable.  Beautiful flowers have also had a very cheering effect.  Not only because they remind me of time spent growing at the allotment.  But also because of the love and care with which each bunch was chosen (from the daffodils plucked from straight from the garden to the gerberas to match my favourite wedding flowers to the pot plant to ensure flowery cheer extends well beyond my return to full health).    I love them all 😮

Entry filed under: home life.

making felt flowers grow your own grub

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Choclette  |  April 25, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Ah Nic, what beautiful flowers. I didn’t think it was that long since I last stopped by, what’s happened to you? I hope you are OK. At least it looks as though you are being well cared for. Do hope you make a swift recovery. Just going off to “catch up” with your posts.

    Reply
  • 2. Jacqueline  |  April 25, 2010 at 3:51 pm

    I am glad you are being well looked after. Hope you are back to your old self soon. Jac xx

    Reply
  • 3. mangocheeks  |  April 25, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Oh Nic,
    I had assumed that you were getting better, so wrong of me to make assumptions. Bidding you good health and a speedy recovery. XXXX

    Reply
  • 4. peggy  |  April 26, 2010 at 8:22 am

    I hope you continue to get better and be spoiled! daffodils and irises are a very hard to beat combination of colours for me but all of your flowers are beautiful

    Reply
  • 5. Mrs Green @ my zero waste  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    I thought you were on the mend the other week too. The flowers are beautiful, but I really hope you are feeling better soon 😦

    Reply
  • 6. Nip it in the bud  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Choclette – recovering from an op complicated by an allergic reaction to the pain killers. Getting there and desperate to get to the plot and plant your Peruvian Purples

    Jac – thanks, getting there I hope

    MC – I was, then the allergic reaction started. Sore, itchy eczema has been worse than the surgery pains!

    Peggy – purple and yellow is a fave of mine too.

    Mrs G – thanks, on anti-biotics now so as long as I don’t react to them too should be properly on the mend now

    Reply
  • 7. Don  |  April 27, 2010 at 9:02 am

    You will be pleased to know that the crab apple tree in Reg’s garden is now in full flower, so possibly another bumper season’s picking may be on their way.
    Regards, Don

    Reply
  • 8. Rufus  |  April 27, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Hi Nic, welcome back to doing things you like to do.
    Seeing how you like to try different things, your lovely
    flowers…are they real, painted, felt. knitted, crocheted,
    alternate ginger bread men….. or just grown?

    Reply
  • 9. miss m  |  April 28, 2010 at 1:06 am

    You’re spoiled ! Sure is hard to pic a favourite, they’re all so beautiful ! (Of course, I’m partial to the pot plant because Billy is in the pic)

    Hope these heaps of cheer mend you up soon.

    Reply
  • 10. Nip it in the bud  |  April 28, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Don – I am pleased to hear it. Looking forward to making pickled crab apples and gorgeous ruby red jelly again. Give me a shout when you’ve had your pick

    Rufus – these are very definitely real and smell as lovely as they look. Not grown by me though. I have been attempting knitted flowers during my convalescence and would like to try crochet but need my mum’s help for that!

    Miss M – I am! Billy as a habit of nibbling leaves and flowers but has been quite good with these. He destroyed a jasmine plant once, the cheeky beggar :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Nip it in the bud


Welcome to my once-about-gardening-and-cooking blog that is now mostly about our life in Gloucester with a boy, a baby and 3 cats.

If you like what you found why not subscribe to email updates

Follow Nip it in the bud on WordPress.com

Blog Stats

  • 423,117 hits

Archives

A Gardeners Voice Featured Blog!
TOTS 100 - UK Parent Blogs

