decisions, decisions – to stay on the plot or let it go

allotment invoice 2 4B2014 started with a dilemma when the bill for our allotment arrived.
We’ve had our plot for 8 years and until E came along we more than covered the tenancy fee in the savings made by growing our own food. The last 2 years we’ve reaped no such reward and feel we can no longer justify paying for plot we don’t tend. And yet the thought of giving it up is heartwrenching.Plot July 2008 4B
Sigh, when I think of all the work we’ve put in over the years. This particular section of the plot had weeds, brambles and raspberry bushes up to my elbow last time I saw it. We’d need an army to get it back under control. I’m gong to chat to a couple of other plot holders to find out if anyone else is in the same boat and might be interested in sharing a plot. Realistically though that would probably mean letting go of our big and wild plot to share a smaller, tamer one. The seclusion of our corner plot and established trees bordering it, a bonus in the early days, is a real barrier now to gardening as a family. A plot share could be the middle way.jan snow - for allotment header? 4B
So I’ll let you know what we decide as it also goes hand in hand with thoughts about whether to continue blogging. I started dcoumenting life on the allotment 4.5 years ago but it’s become less about gardening and more about general life stuff as a family of 3. I’m aware I’ve lost some of my original green fingered readers and others drifted away during quiet spells during pregnancy and life with a newborn. There have been plenty of times recently I’ve wondered if there’s much point keeping it going if all I write about is how much E changes and the occasional recipe I manage to follow. So I’d like to say a big thank you to everyone who has stuck with me (especially those who have been with me from the start). And if it’s not too indulgent to ask, would your interest wain if we were no longer allotment growers?
thanks 4B
ps. There was me chiding myself for my lack of posts this year or thinking they were of no interest (the fragility of a blogger’s self esteem when reader comments are sparse) when up popped this report from my fairy Blogmother WordPress congratulating me on 73 new posts in 2013, growing my total archive to 440 posts. Not too bad afterall then! And in case you were wondering …5 ways with a ton of damsons is still the most popular post with 8,403 views since it was written in 2009 (click on link below for full report/top 5). wordpress annual report
http://atomic-temporary-8362095.wpcomstaging.com/2013/annual-report/

12 comments

  1. I read posts from my phone so rarely comment as it means I need data to access the website. I enjoy them so much, especially the recipes and reviews and have forwarded them on to family too. I hope you can keep it up whatever happens with your allotment. Now E is getting older you may like doing it together – I know a few people who especially value their allotment time with their boys

  2. Aww I hope you don’t give up blogging, I love reading your updates. Good idea about the allotment share, hope you get it sorted!

  3. I like to drop in from time to time – always something nice to read here so I hope you will keep going. I don’t come here for the allotment but I always admire that you have one and I think it would be a nice place to go as a family – esp once E is a little older but you must feel the loss of your fresh produce from your own plot

  4. I really enjoy reading your updates Nic, even your recommendations for toddler/food utensils which I’m unlikely to use!! I just enjoy your writing, and I expect there are many people who, like me, take great pleasure from your blog but just don’t get around to commenting x

  5. Your allotment is a daunting task because of its size and the work it needs. The answer could be a garden of your own but until then I can understand the sharing idea. The reality is deciding the size to have according to the time and energy that you (plus ?) can afford.
    What with Euan’s 3 day birthday this weekend. That is one little
    sapling branching out so well.

  6. I always read them on my phone too, so replying is difficult, but I love your blog – I don’t see you often enough, so it’s great to feel I’m keeping in touch xx

  7. I have really enjoyed reading your blog and hope that you do keep it
    up. There will come a time when E is more independent and you will
    have time to return to gardening and cooking. Luckily, I see your Facebook posts too and E at group on a Tuesday with George.
    Hope to see you again soon.

  8. lovely, lovely people – thanks so much for sharing your thoughts in my do I/don’t I dilemma. If just one of you had said ”please keep writing” it would have been enough to sway me, so all of you is creating a very warm rosy glow in my heart. Well then, onwards and upwards then! But first, back to bed – a big day today, little man is 2 :o)

    ps. Joanna, I’m the same with your blog, enjoying the read but not getting round to commentating. I suspect I let that little voice that worries about what others think (ie. no comments on review posts) invade what my heart knows – blogging is all about finding something that stirs you and the joy is in the creation of the story regardless of who reads it. We’ve been with each other a long time haven’t we – look forward to continuing the journey x

  9. Dear Nic. Your blog is a joy to read and even though I don’t always comment, I always feel happy when a blog pops up in my inbox! You have a beautiful way with words. Keep writing! X

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.